2017 Critics’ Choice Documentary Film Awards Winners

The Awards Season is in full swing with various organizations announcing their respective award nominations and winners and hence, setting the stage and more or less, forecasting for what is to come at the Ninetieth Academy Awards. With that said, the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) recently announced the winners of the second annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards at a gala event, which was hosted by Penn Jillette at BRIC in Brooklyn, New York. The aforementioned event included guests ranging from Dolores Huerta to Diane Warren.

Best Documentary: Jane

Best Director (TIE): Evgeny Afineevsky, Cries from Syria and Frederick Wiseman, Ex Libris: The New York Public Library

Best First Documentary: Kedi

Best Political Documentary: Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Best Sports Documentary: Icarus

Best Music Documentary: Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives

Best Song in a Documentary: “Jump” featured in Step – written by Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson and Laura Karpman, performed by Cynthia Erivo

Best Documentary Series: The Vietnam War

Best Ongoing Documentary Series: American Masters

Most Innovative Documentary (TIE): Dawson City: Frozen Time and Last Men in Aleppo


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s