MoviesNews2017 Los Angeles Film Critics’ Association Awards Winners

December 5, 2017

The Los Angeles Film Critics’ Association (LAFCA) announced their awards winners a few days ago. With the precursors under way, we are starting to see a couple front runners emerge come the 90th Academy Awards.

Best Picture: “Call Me by Your Name”
Runner up: “The Florida Project”

Best Director: TIE Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water” and Luca Guadagnino, “Call Me by Your Name”

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”
Runner up: Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”
Runner up: James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”

Best Foreign-Language Film: TIE “BPM” and “Loveless”

Best Animation: “The Breadwinner”
Runner up: “Coco”

Best Screenplay: Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
Runner up: Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film award: Lee Anne Schmitt’s “Purge This Land”

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: “Faces Places”
Runner up: “Jane”

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
Runner up: Mary J. Blige, “Mudbound”

Best Editing: Lee Smith, “Dunkirk”
Runner up: Tatiana S. Riegel, “I, Tonya”

Best Production Design: Dennis Gassner, “Blade Runner 2049”
Runner up: Paul D. Austerberry, “The Shape of Water”

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project”
Runner up: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Music/Score: Jonny Greenwood, “Phantom Thread”
Runner up: Alexandre Desplat, “The Shape of Water”

Best Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, “The Shape of Water”
Runner up: Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”


Blog Stats

  • 918,569 hits

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,185 other subscribers

%d bloggers like this: