2017 Columbus Film Critics Association Awards Winners

The Columbus Film Critics Association recently announced their annual awards winners.

Best Film (ranked):

Lady Bird
Get Out
The Shape of Water
The Big Sick
Blade Runner 2049
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
The Post
The Florida Project
The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins – “The Shape Of Water” (Runner Up: Saoirse Ronan – “Lady Bird”)

Best Actor: Gary Oldman – “Darkest Hour” (Runner Up: James Franco – “The Disaster Artist”)

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe – “The Florida Project” (Runner Up: Sam Rockwell – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf – “Lady Bird” (Runner Up: Allison Janney – “I, Tonya”)

Best Original Screenplay: “Get Out” – Jordan Peele (Runner Up: “Lady Bird” – Greta Gerwig)

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Mudbound” – Virgil Williams and Dee Rees (Runner Up: “The Disaster Artist” – Scott Neustadter And Michael H. Weber)

Best Director: Jordan Peele – “Get Out” (Runner Up: Greta Gerwig – “Lady Bird”)

Best Documentary: “Faces Places” (Runner Up: “Jane”)

Best Animated Film: “Coco” (Runner Up: “Loving Vincent”)

Best Foreign Language Film: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)” (Runner Up: “The Square”)

Best Ensemble: “Lady Bird” (Runner Up: “Mudbound”)

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work): Woody Harrelson (“The Glass Castle”, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”, “War for the Planet of the Apes”, and “Wilson”) & Tracy Letts (“Lady Bird”, “The Lovers”, and “The Post”) (TIE) (Runner Up: Sally Hawkins (“Maudie” and “The Shape of Water”))

Breakthrough Film Artist: Jordan Peele – “Get Out” (for directing and screenwriting) (Runner Up: Greta Gerwig – “Lady Bird” (for directing and screenwriting))

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins – “Blade Runner 2049” (Runner Up: Dan Laustsen – “The Shape of Water”)

Best Film Editing: Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss – “Baby Driver” (Runner Up: Lee Smith – “Dunkirk”)

Best Score: Alexandre Desplat – “The Shape of Water” (Runner Up: Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer – “Blade Runner 2049”)

Best Overlooked Film: “The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)” (Runner Up: “Wind River”)


Categories: Movies, News

Tagged as: ,