MoviesNews2017 Alliance Of Women Film Journalists Awards Winners

Keith NoakesJanuary 9, 2018

The Alliance Of Women Film Journalists recently announced their annual awards winners.

Best Film: “The Shape Of Water”

Best Director: Guillermo Del Toro – “The Shape Of Water”

Best Original Screenplay: “Get Out” — Jordan Peele

Best Adapted Screenplay: “Call Me By Your Name” — James Ivory

Best Documentary: “Faces Places”

Best Animated Film: “Coco” & “Loving Vincent” (TIE)

Best Actress: Frances McDormand — “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Laurie Metcalf — “Lady Bird”

Best Actor: Gary Oldman — “Darkest Hour”

Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Willem Dafoe — “The Florida Project”

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director: “Mudbound” — Billy Hopkins And Ashley Ingram

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins –  “Blade Runner 2049”

Best Editing: Lee Smith — “Dunkirk”

Best Non-English-Language Film: “The Square”

Eda Female Focus Awards (These Awards Honor Women Only):

Best Woman Director: Greta Gerwig — “Lady Bird”

Best Woman Screenwriter: Greta Gerwig — “Lady Bird”

Best Animated Female: Parvana — “The Breadwinner”

Best Breakthrough Performance: Brooklynn Prince — “The Florida Project”

Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry: Rose Mcgowan, Ashley Judd  and All Who Spoke Out Against Sexual Harassment


Eda Special Mention Awards

Actress Defying Age And Ageism: Agnes Varda — “Faces Places”

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead And The Love Interest Award: “I Love You, Daddy” — Chloe Grace Actress Most In Need Of A New Agent

Actress Most In Need Of A New Agent: Kate Winslet For “Wonder Wheel” And “The Mountain Between Us”

Bravest Performance: Sally Hawkins — “The Shape Of Water” & Margot Robbie — “I, Tonya” (TIE)

Remake Or Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made: “The Mummy”

AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award: Showbiz Sexual Tormentors: Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Brett Ratner, Et Al.

%d bloggers like this: